USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation


Section §177.834: General requirements

Below are the available interpretations and guidance for the given section. To return to the list of parts, use the Parts link above. If you do not see any guidance or interpretation information below, that means there is none available for the given part/section. Return to the search page to browse additional regulations sections.

PHMSA has published several Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) documents on regulatory topics. Please review our FAQ documents below:

Additionally PHMSA has Hazardous Materials FAQs based on letters of interpretation on the following topics:

This section of the website provides the ability to find regulations information including regulations parts, content of sections, and interpretations for regulations sections. Below is a list of parts, identified by the part number and subject. To browse sections by part, click on the subject link below. You will be taken to the eCFR website to view sections for a part.

A written regulatory interpretation, response to a question, or an opinion concerning a pipeline safety issue may be obtained by submitting a written request to the Office of Pipeline Safety (PHP–30), PHMSA, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590–0001 or at the email address: In addition to email address, the requestor must include his or her return address and should also include a daytime telephone number. Requests should be submitted at least 120 days before the time the requestor needs a response.

Note: electronic submission is provided as alternative to the 49 CFR Part 190.11(b) mail-in requirement.

The regulations text of the section can be found on the eCFR website. To view the regulations text, use the link below. For assistance, please send an email to

View section 177.834 on the ECFR website

Interpretation Responses

Ref ID Date Company Name Individual Name Response Document
21-0096 Imperative Chemical Partners Shawn Melson View
21-0003 N&M Transfer Co., Inc. Cary Krickeberg View
20-0091 Van Diest Supply Company Bret Hilpipre View
20-0076 Packgen Keith Russ View
19-0122 Smart-Hose Technologies Mr. Daylen Borders View
19-0099 ACA International LLC Tim Farrell View
19-0066 Cryogenic Services, Ltd. Connor Orban View
19-0039 Landstar Transportation Logistics, Inc. Wes Pace View
18-0090 American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) Mr. Michael R. Kloesel View
18-0110 Ascent Resources Utica, LLC Steven Parrish View
17-0047 Rob Scott View
18-0043 Ventura County District Attorney's Office Mitchel Disney View
00-0210 Research Products, Inc.of Alabama Mr. Doug Martin View
13-0023 Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP Mr. Jonathan VanScoyoc View
05-0248 Cognis Corporation Ms. Cindy S. Bryant View
04-0140 Florida Power and Light Co Mr. Frank Nesbihal View
99-0087 New York State Police Trooper George Okst View
05-0249 Cognis Corporation Ms. Maureen Hailer View
05-0295 DuPont SHE Excellence Center Ms. Cherry Burke View
07-0037 Horizon Lines Mr. Cliff Bartley  View
09-0115 North Carolina State Highway Patrol Trooper K.S. Herring View
00-0132 Dow Chemical Canada, Inc. Mr. Phil Stewart View
99-0155 Perkins Propane Gas, Inc Mr. John R. Perkins View
12-0209 K & P Trucking, Inc. Ms. Kathy McConnell View
10-0244 Ashland, Inc. Mr. Gregory S. Phillips View
13-0195 Public Utilities Commission of OhioTransportation Department Mr. Tom Forbes View
14-0176 CMV Inspector Mr. Gilbert Castro View
00-0259 Aristech Chemical Corporation Mr. Michael D. Alston View
99-0058 Great Lakes Chemical Corporation Mr. Robert Monteith View
15-0025 Arizona Department of Public Safety Officer Daniel Voelker View
00-0321 United Parcel Service Mr. Samuel S. Elkind View
16-0088 Landstar Transportation Logistics, Inc. Mr. Wes Pace View
12-0132 Hogan Lovells US LLP Mr. Kenneth M. Kastner View
16-0061 XPO Logistics Mr. Jeff Messe View
06-0265 Hissong Kenworth-GMC, Inc. Mr. Jeff Reutter View
98-0372 Minnesota Department of Transportation Minnesota Department of Transportation View
12-0136 Transportation Enforcement Division Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Mr. Carlisle Smith View
14-0230 The Chlorine Institute Ms. Robyn Kinsley View
14-0130 GP Trucking Mr. John Billingsley View
08-0241 Corrigan Propane Mr. Bob Finn View
11-0198 Landstar Transportation Logistics, Inc. Mr. Wes Pace View
98-0242 Chautauqua Metal Finishing Supply Ms. Patricia A. West View
98-0590 West Central Environmental Corp. Mr. Dana Murphy View
98-0021 Wright Corporation Mr. Rick Wells View
98-0318 Rudolf Express Mr. Dennis Urbaniak View
16-0179 Mr. Dustan Burkey View
00-0184 LaRoche Industries, Inc. Mr. Carlton W. Hendrix View
98-0210 Wright Corporation Mr. Rick Wells View
05-0267 Dangerous Goods Advisory Council Mr. Alan I. Roberts View
00-0049 Honeywell Mr Jeffrey A. Leese View
12-0048 Boyle Transportation Mr. Enrique A. Araniz View
09-0123 HazMat Resoureces, Inc. Mr. Daniel G. Shelton View
12-0164 ARTA Group, Inc. Dr. Alex von Keitz View
09-0211 ChemStation International Mr. Scott Meridith View
07-0150 Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association, Inc. Mr. Kip Hough View
10-0225 HazMat Resources, Inc. Mr. Daniel G. Shelton View
04-0292 Minnesota Department of Transportation, Office of Freight and Commercial Mr. Michael Ritchie View
02-0044 Zambelli Internationale Fireworks Mfg. Co. Inc. Ron Snyder View
06-0243 Alloy Custom Products Mr. Everett Snoeberger  View
01-0132 CONDEA Vista Company Mr.Michael K. Adle View
04-0082 URS Corporation Mr. Andrew N. Romach View
16-0203 AECOM Erin Jarman View
06-0185 Ehrhart Propane Gas Mr. Thomas G. Overbaugh View
13-0050 Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP Mr. Jonathan VanScoyoc View
13-0079 Texas Department of Public Safety – CVE Sergeant Patrick Zatopek View
10-0046 North Carolina State Highway Patrol Lt. D. R. Shackelford View
05-0300 Health and Environmental Excellence Center Ms. Cheryl A. Burke View
13-0044 N & M Transfer Co., Inc. Mr. Cary Krickeberg View