USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation


Section §173.159: Batteries, wet

Below are the available interpretations and guidance for the given section. To return to the list of parts, use the Parts link above. If you do not see any guidance or interpretation information below, that means there is none available for the given part/section. Return to the search page to browse additional regulations sections.

PHMSA has published several Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) documents on regulatory topics. Please review our FAQ documents below:

Additionally PHMSA has Hazardous Materials FAQs based on letters of interpretation on the following topics:

This section of the website provides the ability to find regulations information including regulations parts, content of sections, and interpretations for regulations sections. Below is a list of parts, identified by the part number and subject. To browse sections by part, click on the subject link below. You will be taken to the eCFR website to view sections for a part.

A written regulatory interpretation, response to a question, or an opinion concerning a pipeline safety issue may be obtained by submitting a written request to the Office of Pipeline Safety (PHP–30), PHMSA, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590–0001 or at the email address: In addition to email address, the requestor must include his or her return address and should also include a daytime telephone number. Requests should be submitted at least 120 days before the time the requestor needs a response.

Note: electronic submission is provided as alternative to the 49 CFR Part 190.11(b) mail-in requirement.

The regulations text of the section can be found on the eCFR website. To view the regulations text, use the link below. For assistance, please send an email to

View section 173.159 on the ECFR website

Interpretation Responses

Ref ID Date Company Name Individual Name Response Document
23-0052 Dayton Freight Lines, Inc. Justin Sharkey View
23-0094 DCMA-TDLTC Douglas Connell View
23-0043 Qnergy Mr. Allen Peterson View
22-0068 Detroit Scrap Consulting Services Ty Cox View
22-0006 Daniels Training Services Inc. Mr. Daniel Stoehr View
22-0024 Keller and Heckman, LLP Trent Doyle View
21-0103 Eos Energy Storage Heidi Countermine View
19-0085 EnerSys Steve Spease View
18-0082 Mr. Tom Boyd View
18-0101 Interstate Batteries Recycling, LLC Dan Lane View
17-0112 Tom Boyd View
17-0050 Regulatory Resources, Inc. Mr. Wade A. Winters View
14-0003 Wiley Rein LLP Mr. George Kerchner View
08-0206 Climate Controlled Containers, Inc. Mr. Ken Broussard View
11-0113 Council on Safe Transport of Hazardous Articles, Inc. Mr. Thomas W. Ferguson View
07-0189 Dangerous Goods Advisory Council Mr. Frits Wybenga View
12-0180 Concorde Battery Mr. Steve Delmar View
04-0157 RCS, Inc.-Ohio Mr. Christopher R. Sharp View
11-0217 View
07-0026 American Electric Power Mr. Ray Wirt View
00-0047 Trojan Battery Company Ms. Diane H. Kennedy, R.E.H.S. View
98-0267 VFP Inc. Mr. David Brammer View
10-0261 Duke Energy Corporation Mr. Chuck Denny View
09-0227 Battery Council International Wiley Rein LLP Mr. Timothy J. Lanfond View
05-0312 Wiley Rein & Fielding LLP Mr. George A. Kerchner View
00-0054 Texas Department of Public Safety Trooper Rocky Stone View
14-0103 Von Briesen & Roper, S.C. Attorneys at Law Mr. Mark F. Foley View
11-0313 Patterson Companies, Inc. Mr. Robb Boros Patte View
14-0037 Patton Boggs LLP Ms. Carolina Medero View
15-0156 Toyota Materials Handling Northeast Inc. Mr. Partlow View
00-0060 American Suzuki Motor Corporation Mr. Werner Dittmer View
13-0182 LabelMaster Services Mr. Robert Richard View
06-0062 DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary US LLP Mr. Paul D. Ackerman View
11-0162 Duke Energy Corporation Mr. Chuck Denny View
13-0134 Battery USA Mr. Jim Lawless View
00-0026 Mr. Richard L. Walters View
98-0542 Myers Industries Ms. Barb Germano View
15-0191 Graco, Inc. Mr. Eric Lillyblad View
08-0174 YRCW- North American Transportation Mr. Robert A. Maberry III Sr. View
07-0066 Network Environmental Systems Mr. Earl Thomas View
05-0297 U.S Battery Manufacturing Company Mr. Terry Campbell View
00-0116 CBS News Mr. Huxley Galbraith View
02-0184 Innergy Power Corporation Darrell Musick View
09-0115 North Carolina State Highway Patrol Trooper K.S. Herring View
03-0253 URS Corporation Mr. Andrew N. Romach View
08-0119 Bluegrass Army Depot Ms. Gretchen Schmidt View
98-0532 Delphi Energy & Engine Management Systems Mr. David McCullough View
99-0258 Express Transport by Air Inc. Ms. Angela Flynn View
12-0209 K & P Trucking, Inc. Ms. Kathy McConnell View
07-0092 Florida Power and Light Co. Mr. Frank Nesbihal, CHMM View
04-0150 The CapAnalysis Group, LLC Mr. George Kerchner View
CHI-09-001 Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Thomas E. Evans View
15-0025 Arizona Department of Public Safety Officer Daniel Voelker View
09-0108 Environmental Outsource, Inc. Mr. Andy Coyne View
05-0017 Waste Technology Services Inc Mr. T.L. Nebrich View
07-0138 HAZ-MAT Transportation Services Mr. Jack Peters View
98-0602 G.H. Johnson & Associates, Inc. Mr. James A. Noone View
08-0124 Dist-Trans Company Mr. Daniel Raver View
12-0185 Missouri Department of Natural Resources Ms. Kathy Flippin View
12-0012 Britton & Associates Attorneys at Law Mr. Shannon M. Trevithick View
05-0216 J.B. Hunt Transport, Inc. Mr. Loren Wish View
99-0280 Challenger Transportation, Inc. Mr. Jeff K. Ehrman View
08-0067 Interstate Battery System of America, Inc. Mr. Dan Lane View
12-0186 URS Corporation Mr. Andy Romach View
17-0010 Baker & McKenzie LLP Ms. Jennifer Trock View
11-0265 A2Z Test Lab a division of MAI Mr. Arvin Blank View
06-0031 Mr. John Ramsey View
10-0129 Bringham McCuchen LLP Mr. Robert N. Steinwurtzel View
06-0230 Wiley Rein & Fielding LLP Mr. George A. Kerchner View
04-0103 Teton Transportation, Inc. Mr. Walter D. Smith View
10-0143 URS Corporation Mr. Andrew Romach View
04-0238 3M Transportation Department Mr. Raymond T. Duzynski View
14-0146 Det-Tronics Mr. Lee Zwiefelhofer View
02-0297 Southwest Airlines Company John Andrus View
14-0083 Royal Batteries Distribution Mr. Randy David View
98-0228 American Power Conversion Mr. Neil Rasmussen View
14-0157 Alaska Airlines Mr. Mike Tobin View
09-0249 Dangerous Goods United Airlines Ms. Nancy Finkenkeller View
09-0158 LTL and Conslidation Consultant C.H. Robinson-Ann Arbor Branch Ms. Jennifer Kaczmarczyk View
02-0040 GS Battery (U.S.A.) Inc. Greg DePies View
16-0131 Alabama Power Ms. Sharon Trippany View
06-0036 Greif Mr. Rich Kovaleski View
11-0213 AT&T Mr. Jim La Port View
01-0010 Mr. Joseph Cormier View
01-0320 EnerSys Inc. Mr. Jeffrey S. Koller View
16-0081 N&M Transfer Co.,Inc. Mr. Cary Krickeberg View
04-0173 Howrey Simon Arnold & White, LLP Ms. Saskia Mooney View
10-0025 Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Mr. Thomas E. Evans View
03-0219 Department of the Navy Mr. Daniel J. Burke View
14-0234 Club Assit, North America Ms. Shelley Elzer View
10-0105 Bergeson & Campbell, P.C. Mr. Christopher R. Bryant View
02-0016 Perry Wiltrout View
17-0032 Avalon Battery Corporation Mr. Brian Adams View
13-0057 Ameresco Mr. Johnny Rogers View
06-0240 H.C. Gabler, Inc. Mr. Robert L. Summers  View
10-0021 Ohio State Highway Patrol Major Christopher K. Minter View
01-0054R Georgia Department of Public Safety Captain Bruce Bugg View
10-0034 Global Green Services, Inc. Ms. L'Gena Prevatt View
01-0205 Nefab, Inc. Mr.Thomas D. Kusek View