USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation


Section §173.6: Materials of trade exceptions

Below are the available interpretations and guidance for the given section. To return to the list of parts, use the Parts link above. If you do not see any guidance or interpretation information below, that means there is none available for the given part/section. Return to the search page to browse additional regulations sections.

PHMSA has published several Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) documents on regulatory topics. Please review our FAQ documents below:

Additionally PHMSA has Hazardous Materials FAQs based on letters of interpretation on the following topics:

This section of the website provides the ability to find regulations information including regulations parts, content of sections, and interpretations for regulations sections. Below is a list of parts, identified by the part number and subject. To browse sections by part, click on the subject link below. You will be taken to the eCFR website to view sections for a part.

A written regulatory interpretation, response to a question, or an opinion concerning a pipeline safety issue may be obtained by submitting a written request to the Office of Pipeline Safety (PHP–30), PHMSA, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590–0001 or at the email address: In addition to email address, the requestor must include his or her return address and should also include a daytime telephone number. Requests should be submitted at least 120 days before the time the requestor needs a response.

Note: electronic submission is provided as alternative to the 49 CFR Part 190.11(b) mail-in requirement.

The regulations text of the section can be found on the eCFR website. To view the regulations text, use the link below. For assistance, please send an email to

View section 173.6 on the ECFR website

Interpretation Responses

Ref ID Date Company Name Individual Name Response Document
21-0056 Truck and Bus Compliance Lew Snearly View
22-0095 Environmental Resource Center Kristie Absher View
22-0063 M-Tac Trucking Compliance LLC Brian A. McGuire View
20-0064 MRIGlobal-NCR Malcolm Smith View
19-0100 Global Cellulose Fibers Paul Bissett View
19-0062 Raul Badillo View
19-0041 Dangerous Goods Advisory Council Del Billings View
06-0262 DOT Compliance Mr. Clark W. Elliot View
14-0128 University of Minnesota Mr. Michael Maurer View
12-0208 Occidental Chemical Company Mr. Norman Dodson View
05-0271 Dangerous Goods Advisory Council Mr. Alan I. Roberts View
08-0044 Inspecorate America Corporation Mr. John E. Williams III View
12-0075 Broward Fire Equipment and Service Inc. Mr. John A. Gioseffi View
05-0213 Parts Plus Distribution Center Mr. Walter Kunz View
10-0265 Minnesota Department of Transportation Mr. Michael Ritchie View
06-0115 Waste Technology Services, Inc. Ted L. Nebrich, Jr., CHMM, QEP, REM  View
13-0174 Scopelitis, Garvin, Light, Hanson & Feary, P.C. Mr. Brandon K. Wiseman View
99-0208 City of San Diego Ms. Joan N. McNamara View
09-0195 Certispec Services USA, Inc. Mr. David O. Jones View
10-0270 Mr. James La Porte View
07-0190 AirTran Airways Mr. Brian Badger View
10-0184 Baker Petrolite Corporation Mr. Aubrey Campbell View
08-0064 Saybolt LP Mr. Mike Conroy View
06-0075 West Marine Products, Inc. Mr. Todd A. Nash View
07-0172 Allegro MicroSystems, Inc Mr. Donald W. Alger View
04-0145 Mobility Products Unlimited, LLC Mr. Steven King View
99-0055 Suburban Propane Ms. Barbara J. Verdon View
02-0325 The Blood Center Ruth O'Donnell CHMM View
06-0273 Piedmont Plastics, Inc. Mr. Dale Austin View
03-0055 Qualex, Inc. Mr. Dwight Fast View
00-0141 Merichern Company Research Center Mr. Leo N. Richard Jr. View
98-0371 Levine-Fricke Mr. Thomas J. Dolce, P.E View
07-0023 NM Scientific Lab Ms. Pamela Morden MT (ASCP), MPH View
07-0065 National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration Mr. Dan Poulos    View
17-0027 Vianna Zimbel Consultting Ms. Vianna Zimbel View
02-0076 Mr. Leo Malatesta DeAngeloBrothers Incorporated View
03-0103 South Florida Plastics, Inc. Mr. John S. Srokose View
02-0314 Aero Vironment Inc. Erica Jenkins View
12-0002 Mr. Henry Wake Huffman View
03-0257 URS Corporation Mr. Andrew N. Romach View
00-0124 Layne-Atlantic Mr. John Pittas View
98-0038 Digital Audio Disc Corporation Mr. Gary J. Garrahan View
01-0299 URS Corporation Mr. Andrew N. Romach View
98-0287 Mr. Tom Perry View
99-0074 HMT Associates Mr. E.A. Altemos View
00-0142 Radian International Mr. Andrew N. Romach View
98-0503 United Surveyors of Chemicals, Inc. Mr. Jeffrey M. Moses View
00-0287 Mr. Andy Altemos View
02-0228 PPL Technical Training Center Frederick A.Muthard View
07-0066 Network Environmental Systems Mr. Earl Thomas View
10-0234 Kelly Infinity Mr. Jeff Brown View
99-0224 HMT Associates, L.L.C. Mr. E.A. Altemos View
03-0007 Refrigeration Supplies Distributor Mr. Neill Boutilier View
05-0096 MHF Logistical Solutions Mr. Randy Hill View
14-0115 Midwest Veterinary Supply, Inc. Ms. Joanne Kittridge View
09-0305 Mr. James La Porte View
99-0238 Specialty Gases of America, Inc. Mr. Jason C. Pollman View
00-0378 TruGreen - ChemLawn Technical Center Mr. Roger A. Yeary View
17-0014 Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP Mr. Richard Norl View
13-0142 EHS Assurance Mr. Andrew Peterson View
10-0261 Duke Energy Corporation Mr. Chuck Denny View
12-0060 Bombardier Aerospace Mr. Jeff Christafore View
03-0016 Mr. Tom B. Jacobsen View
04-0265 Mr. Peter B. O"Connell View
06-0037 Waste Technology Services, Inc. Ted L. Nebrich, Jr., CHMM, QEP, REM View
09-0232 BP Products North America Ms. Becky Conn View
07-0062 Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Ms. Gretchen S. Wheat View
11-0245 DENTSPLY International, Caulk Division Mr. Kevin Marrow View
09-0145 Mr. James La Porte View
09-0143 Wiley Rein LLP Mr. George Kerchner View
07-0160 Charkit Chemical Corporation Mr. Steve J. Catania View
06-0229 National Headquarters Mr. Michael I. Gorman  View
09-0068 Scopelitis, Garvin, Light, Hanson & Ferry Mr. Timothy W. Wiseman View
08-0096 Sutherlands Ms. Tara Higgins View
CHI-04-006 U.S. Department of Agriculture Mr. Wesley Throop View
06-0090 Target Specialty Products Mr. Gary Maxwell View
03-0299 Gram Safety Services Mr. Urns Gram View
16-0044 Hall, Render, Killiam, Heath & Lyman, PC Ms. Amy Berenbaum Goodman View
03-0223 Mr. Lloyd Heacock View
13-0051 Occidental Chemical Company Mr. Norman Dodson View
01-0220 Williams Laboratory Services Ms. Jan Johnson View
09-0021 DENSO Manufacturing Tennessee, Inc. Mr. Bob Booker View
06-0181 Laboratory Medicine Consultants Ms. Jane Swerdlow View
04-0013 Keller and Heckman LLP Mr. Michael P. Morrone View
10-0101 Jefferson Lab Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility Mr. Thomas Briggs, PE View
14-0182 Reagent Chemical Mr. Robert Dritschel View
01-0290 URS Corporation Mr. Andrew Romach View
01-0012 Reichhold Mr. Mark U. DuBois View
16-0025 Pine Mr. Jason Miller View
01-0207 Minnesota Department of Transportation Mr. Michael Ritchie View