USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation


Section §172.800: Purpose and applicability

Below are the available interpretations and guidance for the given section. To return to the list of parts, use the Parts link above. If you do not see any guidance or interpretation information below, that means there is none available for the given part/section. Return to the search page to browse additional regulations sections.

PHMSA has published several Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) documents on regulatory topics. Please review our FAQ documents below:

Additionally PHMSA has Hazardous Materials FAQs based on letters of interpretation on the following topics:

This section of the website provides the ability to find regulations information including regulations parts, content of sections, and interpretations for regulations sections. Below is a list of parts, identified by the part number and subject. To browse sections by part, click on the subject link below. You will be taken to the eCFR website to view sections for a part.

A written regulatory interpretation, response to a question, or an opinion concerning a pipeline safety issue may be obtained by submitting a written request to the Office of Pipeline Safety (PHP–30), PHMSA, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590–0001 or at the email address: In addition to email address, the requestor must include his or her return address and should also include a daytime telephone number. Requests should be submitted at least 120 days before the time the requestor needs a response.

Note: electronic submission is provided as alternative to the 49 CFR Part 190.11(b) mail-in requirement.

The regulations text of the section can be found on the eCFR website. To view the regulations text, use the link below. For assistance, please send an email to

View section 172.800 on the ECFR website

Interpretation Responses

Ref ID Date Company Name Individual Name Response Document
23-0071 KC Partners Group Mr. Joseph E. Connelly View
22-0109 Pacific Gas & Electric Timothy Hewitt View
03-0224 ShipMate, Inc. Mr. Steven Charles Hunt View
10-0205 U. S. Department of Energy Ms. Anjali Shaykher Zutshi View
03-0190 Graef E&S Consulting Services Mr. Warren D. Graef, BAAS, CHMM View
12-0013 GeoDynamics Mr. Rick Chewning View
03-0192 Connecticut Spring and Stamping Mr. Charles E. Thomas View
14-0016 URS Corporation Mr. Andrew N. Romach View
03-0118 Waste Technology Services, Inc. Mr. Ted Nebrich View
05-0020 DOT Hazardous Materials Division William Quade View
03-0124 Dart Container Corporation Ms. Amanda Bishop View
08-0048 Carolina Filters, Inc. Mr. Morgan Campbell View
10-0116 NW Natural Mr. Neil Banman View
07-0035 Cornerstone Systems. Inc. Mr. Jonathan Ward View
14-0189 Mitsubishi Motors North America Ms. Dawn Perry View
03-0242 Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority Ms. Laura MacPherson View
07-0116 Tatro Tekosky Sadwick LLP Mr. Steve R. Tekosky View
10-0132 Entergy Services, Inc. Mr. Joe Hantz View
09-0192 Hazmat, Inc. Mr. Paul J. Dambek View
16-0028 New York State Department of Health Mr. Corey Bennett View
05-0066 Scana Power for Living Mike E. Moore, P.G. View
17-0022 Golder Associates, Inc. Mr. Benjamin Huron View
13-0231 Universal Well Services, Inc Mr. Tom Cloud and Ms. Janell Agnew View
06-0170 Airgas-SAFECOR Mr. John Anderson View
04-0132 International Association of Fire Chiefs Chief Ernest Mitchell View
03-0328 The Fertilizer Institute Mr. Kraig R. Naasz, President View
03-0215 Hubbard Construction Company Mr. Stephen J. Brown View
04-0065 Phoenix Air Mr. Dent Thompson View
03-0216 Classic Propane Ms. Toni Yount View
10-0064 URS Corporation Ms. Erin N. Jarman View
11-0263 c/o Waste Control Specialists LLC Mr. Jeff Shouse View
10-0083 Chemical Sector Coordinating Council Mr. Dan Walters View
05-0186 Minnesota Department of Transportation Mr. Michael Ritchi View