USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Employee Services

Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO)

EEO is the concept that every person, regardless of their personal identifying factors - race, color, religion, gender, national origin, age, disability status, sexual orientation, genetic information or complaint status - has the right to fully participate in every aspect of employment and to be afforded all of the same terms, conditions, and privileges of work. The EEO Program is the management tool by which the concept of EEO is implemented.

EEO Complaint Procedures

Any employee or applicant for employment with PHMSA who believes they have been discriminated against may file a complaint of discrimination. The procedures for filing a complaint are at the link above.

Special Emphasis Programs

The major goals of PHMSA's Special Emphasis Programs are to eliminate discriminatory policies and practices, and to identify and resolve barriers to full employment of a protected class. These programs are to ensure equal representation throughout PHMSA, to address issues critical to increasing productivity, and to increase our diverse workforce.

Minority Serving Institutions Program (MSI)

The PHMSA Office of Civil Rights develops and implements White House educational initiatives with Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic Serving Institutions, Tribal Colleges and Universities, and institutions that serve Asian Americans and Native American Pacific Islanders and persons with disabilities.


President Bush signed the Notification and Federal Employee Anti-Discrimination and Retaliation Act of 2002, commonly called the "No FEAR Act", on May 15, 2002. The Act mandates that Federal agencies shall be held individually accountable for violations of anti-discrimination and whistleblower protection laws.