Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Firework Certification Agencies (FCA)

Effective August 15, 2013, PHMSA established an alternative to the approval process for Division 1.4G consumer fireworks. Now firework manufacturers have the option to apply to a DOT-approved FCA in accordance with 49 CFR § 173.65. The FCA certification process is similar to PHMSA's approval process. A manufacturer must provide information indicating that the fireworks device conforms to the requirements in the APA Standard 87-1 and that the device has passed the thermal stability test.

The FCA reviews and certifies that the firework conforms to the requirements of the APA Standard 87-1 (see 78 FR 42457 - Final Rule). The FCA will notify the manufacturer in writing if the fireworks has been certified and classed; and it will be the FCA that assigns an FC number to the fireworks device. An "FC" number is issued rather than an "EX" number and will be formatted as follows: FC-XXX-YYYYMM-ZZZZ. Where, FC = firework certification, XXX = FCA ID a digit number issued by PHMSA, YYYY = 4 digit year, MM = 2 digit month, and ZZZZ = a unique sequential number identifying the device issued by the FCA.

Example – FC9992014040001

PHMSA published a brochure "The Fireworks Certification Procedures Guide to HM-257 Final Rule Revision to Fireworks Regulations" July 2013 which provides additional guidance to the FCA process.

A question and answer section has been developed to assist both the FCA's and the fireworks manufacturers at Q&A FCA’s.

Should you have additional questions please submit them to or call 202-366-4511.

Last updated: Thursday, June 13, 2019