USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Explosive Test Labs

49 CFR 173.56(b)(1) provides that new explosives must be examined and assigned a recommended shipping description, classification, and compatibility group by a person who has been approved by the Associate Administrator to do so.

The organizations listed below have been approved by the Associate Administrator to examine and make recommendations concerning new explosives in accordance with 49 CFR 173.56(b)(1).

Approvals Search Tool

The approvals search tool is a powerful and effective method to determine the current status of a submission, existing approval, pending approval, terminated approval or expired approval.

If you need information concerning application status that is not available in this search, please contact: explo@dot.gov or call 202/366-4545.

Explosive Test Labs
Agencies Contact Person Address, Phone, & E-mail
APT Research, Inc. Lon Santis 4950 Research Drive
Huntsville, AL 35805
lsantis@apt-research.com
Tel: 443-250-1868
Fax: 256-837-7786
Energetic Experts, LLC Thaddeus Speed 9168 N. Deerfield Cir.
Eagle Mountain, UT 84005
(801) - 647 - 1031
tspeed@EnergeticsExperts.com
Explosives Bureau Thomas Chang

407 Hartshorn Drive
Short Hills, NJ 07078
Tel: 973-467-3237

C: 862-400-5210
Fax: 973-467-4648
uneak96@aol.com

Explosives Examiners LLC Phillip Kneisl 3714 Crescent Drive
Pearland, TX 77584
Explosivesexaminers@gmail.com
Tel: 281-692-0178
Explosives Test Center, LLC

Graham Walsh, PhD
Michael Gerber

5698 Brennan Ave
Colorado Spring CO 80923
Tel: 505-515-4430
gwalsh@explosivestestcenter.com
mgerber@explosivestestcenter.com

Safety Management Services, Inc.

Kirt Sasser
Troy Gardner
Jason Ford
Garn Butcher
Rusty Christensen

1847 West 9000 South
Suite 205
West Jordan, UT 84088
Tel: 801-567-0456
Fax: 801-567-0457
ksasser@smsenergetics.com
tgardner@smsenergetics.com
jford@smsenergetics.com
gbutcher@smsenergetics.com
rchristensen@smsenergetics.com