Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is available on Coronavirus.gov. For PHMSA contact information during the COVID-19 health emergency, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Explosive Test Labs

49 CFR 173.56(b)(1) provides that new explosives must be examined and assigned a recommended shipping description, classification, and compatibility group by a person who has been approved by the Associate Administrator to do so.

As of April 1, 2008, the organizations listed below have been approved by the Associate Administrator to examine and make recommendations concerning new explosives in accordance with 49 CFR 173.56(b)(1).

Approvals Search Tool

The approvals search tool is a powerful and effective method to determine the current status of a submission, existing approval, pending approval, terminated approval or expired approval.

If you need information concerning application status that is not available in this search, please contact: approvals@dot.gov or call 202/366-3987.

Explosive Test Labs
Agencies Contact Person Address, Phone, & E-mail
APT Research, Inc. George Mayer 4950 Research Drive
Huntsville, AL 35805
gmayer@apt-research.com 
Tel: 256-327-4018
Fax: 256-837-7786
Explosives Bureau Thomas Chang 407 Hartshorn Drive
Short Hills, NJ 07078
Tel: 973-467-3237
Fax: 973-467-4648
uneak96@aol.com
Explosives Examiners LLC Phillip Kneisl 3714 Crescent Drive
Pearland, TX 77584
Explosivesexaminers@gmail.com
Tel: 281-692-0178
Explosives Test Center, LLC

Graham Walsh, PhD
Michael Gerber

5698 Brennan Ave
Colorado Spring CO 80923
Tel: 505-515-4430
gwalsh@explosivestestcenter.com
mgerber@explosivestestcenter.com

Safety Consulting Engineers, Inc.,
now part of DEKRA Insight

Ms. Bernadette N. Reyes
Thaddeus C. Speed

1350 Remington Road, Suite G Schaumburg, IL 60173
Tel: 847-925-8100 / 847-925-2032
Fax: 847-925-8120
bernadette.reyes@dekra.com
thaddeus.speed@dekra.com

Safety Management Services, Inc.

Kirt Sasser
Troy Gardner
Jason Ford
Clint Guymon
Garn Butcher

1847 West 9000 South
Suite 205
West Jordan, UT 84088
Tel: 801-567-0456
Fax: 801-567-0457
ksasser@smsenergetics.com
tgardner@smsenergetics.com
jford@smsenergetics.com
cguymon@smsenergetics.com
gbutcher@smsenergetics.com

Last updated: Monday, July 20, 2020