Official US Government Icon

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Secure Site Icon

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus (COVID-19) is available on For PHMSA contact information during the COVID-19 health emergency, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Competent Authority Numbering System

At the beginning of 2000, it became necessary to update the Competent Authority (CA) numbering system from the seven-digit sequence to the current 10-digit sequence. The old seven-digit number (and in a few cases, nine-digit number) and the new 10-digit number are interchangeable. It is not necessary to apply for a new number and the old number is still valid. All CA's issued by the Approvals Office will contain the new 10-digit number. If your company is using packagings, labels, and/or stamps with the old number, you may continue to use them when practicable.

Last updated: Friday, April 7, 2017