USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation


Section §192.1: What is the scope of this part?

Below are the available interpretations and guidance for the given section. To return to the list of parts, use the Parts link above. If you do not see any guidance or interpretation information below, that means there is none available for the given part/section. Return to the search page to browse additional regulations sections.

PHMSA has published several Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) documents on regulatory topics. Please review our FAQ documents below:

Additionally PHMSA has Hazardous Materials FAQs based on letters of interpretation on the following topics:

This section of the website provides the ability to find regulations information including regulations parts, content of sections, and interpretations for regulations sections. Below is a list of parts, identified by the part number and subject. To browse sections by part, click on the subject link below. You will be taken to the eCFR website to view sections for a part.

A written regulatory interpretation, response to a question, or an opinion concerning a pipeline safety issue may be obtained by submitting a written request to the Office of Pipeline Safety (PHP–30), PHMSA, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590–0001 or at the email address: In addition to email address, the requestor must include his or her return address and should also include a daytime telephone number. Requests should be submitted at least 120 days before the time the requestor needs a response.

Note: electronic submission is provided as alternative to the 49 CFR Part 190.11(b) mail-in requirement.

The regulations text of the section can be found on the eCFR website. To view the regulations text, use the link below. For assistance, please send an email to

View section 192.1 on the ECFR website

Interpretation Responses

Ref ID Date Company Name Individual Name Response Document
PI-23-0020 Hanna Oil and Gas Company Mr. Sam Hanna View
PI-23-0017 US Bureau of Land Management Ms. Melanie Barnes View
PI-22-0010 Navajo Tribal Utility Authority Mr. Antony M. Davison View
PI-22-0015 Anheuser-Busch, LLC Mr. Kevin Fahrenkrog View
PI-22-0012 IACX Roswell, LLC Mr. Justin Wheeler View
PI-22-0007 New Fortress Energy Mr. Brannen McElmurray View
PI-19-0004 Michigan Public Service Commission Mr. David J. Chislea View
PI-20-0002 Maine Public Utilities Commission Mr. Gary A. Kenny View
PI-18-0012 Olin Ms. Stacie Campbell-Eckhoff View
PI-07-0105 CPN Pipeline Company Mr. Scott Vickers View
PI-17-0009 Alaska Gasline Development Corp. Mr. Frank T. Richards View
PI-17-0013 Automatic Propane Gas and Supply Mr. David Dupuy View
PI-75-0102 Mr. E. Neil Wagstaff View
PI-72-048 Florida Public Service Commission Charles H. Batten View
PI-92-030 E.I. Du Pont De Nemours & Company Raymond M. Ripple View
PI-76-062 Western Mobilehome Association Neil Y. Nordlander View
PI-82-003 Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. Kenneth W. Haile, View
PI-72-044 Arkansas Public Service Commission Benjamin C. McMinn View
PI-95-051 Consolidated Edison Company David Davidowitz View
PI-76-0104 View
PI-79-017 Union Oil Company of California Ted Russell View
PI-92-003 Gas del Estado Jose Hugo Muraco View
PI-01-0112 ExxonMobil Production Company Mr. T. S. Brooks View
PI-76-0109 View
PI-93-042 Amoco Production Company J. N. Jaggers View
PI-76-054 Clanton & Johnson John W. Johnson View
PI-01-0105 Tennessee Regulatory Authority Mr. Glynn Blanton View
PI-76-0110 View
PI-78-010 Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia Mr. Kenneth W. Freelain, View
PI-71-039 El Paso Natural Gas Company William F. Howard View
PI-90-023 Memo: Internal View
PI-76-0114 View
PI-92-010 The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Edward M. Steele View
PI-76-0100 View
PI-90-004 Public Utility Commission of Oregon Mike Kane View
PI-76-0113 View
PI-99-0103 Chief, Gas Pipeline Safety Division Mr. Glynn Blanton View
PI-76-0101 View
PI-11-0009 State of Maine Public Utilities Commission Mr. Gary A. Kenny View
PI-74-0152 Waco Savings & Loan Association Mr. Ralph Adams View
PI-92-046 Steer, Strauss, White & Tobias F. Bruce Abel View
PI-94-017 Memo: Internal View
PI-72-006 John W. Wehmeier View
PI-74-0123 Grey Forest Utilities Mr. Robert S. Grant View
PI-91-038 Ross Marsh Foster Myers & Quiggle Nancy J. Skancke View
PI-75-0115 View
PI-10-0004 South Carolina Office of Regulatory Staff Mr. Vernon Gainey View
PI-73-014 Alabama Public Service Commission Larry E. Waldrop View
PI-92-023 State of Connecticut Department of Public Utility Control Philip Sher View
PI-74-0106 Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission Mr. Jerry Rich View
PI-74-0126 Gulf Oil Company - U.S. Mr. T. W. Kidd View
PI-92-055 Memo: Internal View
PI-74-010 General Services Administration James F. Steele, Jr. View
PI-79-025 Offshore Operators Committee L. G. Otteman View
PI-79-021 North Central Public Service Co. Robert R. Kain View
PI-10-0024 XTO Energy, Inc. Ms. Alice Ratcliffe View
PI-97-008 South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Martin C. Bettmann View
PI-98-003 The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio Edward M. Steele View
PI-96-013 Argee R.G. Musgrove View
PI-93-060 OXY USA, Inc. Lance Fellhoalter View
PI-78-024 Clanton & Johnson Mr. John W. Johnson View
PI-78-021 Union Oil Company of California Mr. Calvin F. Broussard View
PI-80-014 Memo: Internal View
PI-15-0002 Wacker Polysilicon North America Mr. Jeremy Copeland View
PI-77-028 Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia Mary E. Brazelton View
PI-77-0107 View
PI-93-020 Memo: Internal View
PI-09-0009 Marathon Pipe Line L.L.C. Mr. Richard A. Abraham View
PI-74-0118 Wyoming Public Service Commission Mr. Jon F. Jacuot View