USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation


Section §173.29: Empty packagings

Below are the available interpretations and guidance for the given section. To return to the list of parts, use the Parts link above. If you do not see any guidance or interpretation information below, that means there is none available for the given part/section. Return to the search page to browse additional regulations sections.

PHMSA has published several Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) documents on regulatory topics. Please review our FAQ documents below:

Additionally PHMSA has Hazardous Materials FAQs based on letters of interpretation on the following topics:

This section of the website provides the ability to find regulations information including regulations parts, content of sections, and interpretations for regulations sections. Below is a list of parts, identified by the part number and subject. To browse sections by part, click on the subject link below. You will be taken to the eCFR website to view sections for a part.

A written regulatory interpretation, response to a question, or an opinion concerning a pipeline safety issue may be obtained by submitting a written request to the Office of Pipeline Safety (PHP–30), PHMSA, U.S. Department of Transportation, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590–0001 or at the email address: In addition to email address, the requestor must include his or her return address and should also include a daytime telephone number. Requests should be submitted at least 120 days before the time the requestor needs a response.

Note: electronic submission is provided as alternative to the 49 CFR Part 190.11(b) mail-in requirement.

The regulations text of the section can be found on the eCFR website. To view the regulations text, use the link below. For assistance, please send an email to

View section 173.29 on the ECFR website

Interpretation Responses

Ref ID Date Company Name Individual Name Response Document
22-0014 I.C.E. Service Group & SPS Strategic Packaging Systems Mr. Kurt Colborn View
22-0120 Hazmat Safety Consulting, LLC Robert Richard View
21-0015 Iowa Dept. of Transportation Robert Johnson View
19-0114 Entegris, Inc. Mr. James V. McManus View
19-0038 The Chemours Company Randolph Martin View
19-0020 Zee Company Ricky Pruitt View
09-0264 Kelly Aerospace Mr. Mark Mertes View
02-0209 FISC ATACHUB Libby Bishop View
00-0117 Aerostatic Engineering Mr. John Terry View
14-0072 Federal Motor Carriers Safety Administration (FMCSA) Mr. David Ford View
05-0026 AeroPro, Inc. Ms. Susan Foumier  View
02-0220 Vaught Aircraft David Norton View
12-0011 Briggs and Stratton Corporation Mr. Don Pucci View
99-0165 Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Kentucky, Inc Ms. Delinda. Arnold View
02-0064 NM Transfer Co., Inc. Cary Krickeberg View
09-0168 Baker Hughes Mr. Aubrey R. Campbell View
02-0146 James W. Stoddard View
02-0100 Asplundh Railroad Division Gerry Blase View
00-0286 Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. Mr. J. H. DiGirolamo View
02-0259 Minnesota Department of Transportation Michael Ritchie View
11-0203 Henry, Oddo, Austin & Fletcher Attorneys and Counselors at Law Ms. Katherine Knight View
14-0100 Gruene Environmental Companies Mr. Kitt Ferraz View
06-0081 Gas Service and supply Mr. Don Lampshire View
15-0157 Fleet Services Business Department Ms. Elizabeth Carson View
10-0184 Baker Petrolite Corporation Mr. Aubrey Campbell View
09-0229 Baker Petrolite Corporation Mr. Aubrey R. Campbell View
11-0205 AT&T Mr. Jim La Porte View
13-0180 Mr. Tom Alexander View
14-0051 Shane Havoc Consulting, LLC Mr. Gregory Sutherland Ph.D. View
03-0285 Blue Rhino Corporation Mr. Richard J. Arthur View
04-0251 Marsulex Mr. Sam Reeder View
00-0340 Seatex Corporation Mr. Donald J. Trepel View
11-0211 Western Manufacturing Corp. Mr. John H. Evanski View
12-0266 Austin Power Company Mr. Thomas H. Snyder View
10-0155 DuPont Company Mr. Randolph Martin View
09-0201 Hazmat, Inc. Mr. Paul J. Dambek View
05-0047 Venture Lighting International, Inc. Mr. Clinton M. Giannett View
03-0033 Nebraska State Patrol Bradley A. Wagner, Sergeant View
04-0042 Ocenco Incorporated Mr. Michael B. Kay View
11-0061 Ventura Transfer Company Mr. Jim Cheney View
15-0243 Environmental Health & Safety Ms. Marilyn Winterburg View
02-0012 CrossNet USA, Inc Cindy Seki View
02-0033 Timothy Roberts View
14-0239 Sun Chemical Corporation Ms. Amy fischesser View
14-0139 Linde Gas North Mr. Guy Dalton View