USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Pipeline Safety, Regulatory Certainty and Job Creation Act of 2011

Section 32 of the Pipeline Safety, Regulatory Certainty and Job Creation Act (PSRCJCA) of 20111 called upon the Department of Transportation (DOT) and the Department of Commerce (DOC) to “carry out a program of research, development, demonstration and standardization to ensure the integrity of pipeline facilities.” Though not officially named in the section, the Department of the Interior (DOI) was invited to participate in the activities described in the interagency 5-year plan because of its relevant offshore activities and vital program expertise. Therefore, DOT, DOC, and DOI shall be referred to as the “participating agencies.”

The development activities by the participating agencies have created an Interagency Research and Development Five-Year Program Plan that incorporates the congressional direction. This plan represents program level areas or strategies where annual coordination and collaborative activities and related research funding will be reported. The success in implementing this plan will be transmitted in two update reports submitted every two years as mandated by the Congress.

1 Public Law 112-90

Interagency Research and Development Five-Year Program Plan For Pipeline Safety and Integrity:

Interagency Update Reports to Congress:

Interagency Research Program Links & Contacts:

PHMSA Contacts


Robert Smith
R&D Manager
Office: (919) 238-4759


National Institute of Standards and Technology Contacts

Nicholas Barbosa
Structural Materials Group Leader
Office: (303) 497-3445

Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement Contacts

Joseph Levine
Chief, Emerging Technology Branch (ETB)
Office: 703-787-1033
Olivia Adrian
Chief, Contract Support Section (SCC)
Office: 703-787-1673