General

You are here

CASQAT

Cased Crossings & Guided Wave Ultrasonics: CASQAT

Primary Scope: To discuss baseline assessments per 49 CFR Part 192 Subpart O and to develop draft technical guidance for addressing the integrity of cased crossings.

Background and Members:

PHMSA and AGA met in December 2008 to discuss a path forward to address issues defined during the July Cased Pipe Workshop. It was agreed a technical task group should be formed to further vet some of the issues and help develop some guidance material in areas where it is agreed more clarification is needed. All relevant stakeholders and ongoing efforts in standards development and research were considered as part of the formation of the task team.

The following individuals (listed alphabetically) were chosen based on their knowledge and/or involvement in these ongoing efforts:

Dave Berger – Cycla/PHMSA dave.b@verizon.net
Harry Bryant – North Carolina UC (Representing NAPSR) bryant@ncuc.net
David Chislea – Michigan PSC (Representing NAPSR) chislead@michigan.gov
Alan Eastman – Mears (Representing Vendors/Service Providers, AGA, and NACE) alan.eastman@mears.net
Bob Fassett – PG&E (Representing AGA, INGAA, and NACE) rpf2@pge.com
Mary Holzmann – National Grid (Representing AGA) mary.holzmann@us.ngrid.com
Max Kieba – PHMSA Engineering (Co-chair/Coordinator) max.kieba@dot.gov
Bill Lowry - PHMSA Southwest Region bill.lowry@dot.gov
Andrew Lu – AGA (Co-chair Coordinator) alu@aga.org
Garry Matocha – Spectra (Representing INGAA) GMMatocha@spectraenergy.com
Alan Mayberry – PHMSA Engineering alan.mayberry@dot.gov
Steve Nanney – PHMSA Engineering steve.nanney@dot.gov
Victoria Plotkin – AGA vplotkin@aga.org
Larry Rankin – Corrpro (Representing Vendors/Service Providers) LRankin@Corrpro.com
Bob Smith – PHMSA Program Development robert.w.smith@dot.gov
Dane Spillers – Ameren (Representing AGA) danespillers@ameren.com
Virgil Wallace – Williams (Representing INGAA) virgil.wallace@Williams.com
John West – PHMSA Training and Qualifications john.west@dot.gov

Scope, Deliverables and Information dissemination:

The CASQAT had its first meeting February 4 and 5, 2009 in Washington, DC at AGA’s headquarters.

Scope

The team agreed its primary scope will be to discuss baseline assessments of cased pipe segments per Subpart O. Through primary scope discussions, topics may come up dealing with integrity re-assessments that go beyond 2012. Additional discussion may ensue as it relates to the primary scope of the CASQAT, and beyond to a degree. However, more detailed discussion will be deferred to others as the topics arise.

Deliverables

The main deliverables will be DRAFT guidance materials to help assess per Subpart O while also being consistent with ongoing NACE RP developments, with a public workshop to follow to discuss the material and get more input prior to finalizing. An initial target goal of June 1, 2009 for a "product" of draft guidance material with input from CASQAT was set at the first meeting. That target has been met and the guidance material is currently being reviewed internally by PHMSA prior to being released. A public workshop will be conducted on a date to be determined. The team will publish the final draft guidance materials for public review at the same time together in one package prior to the workshop. The workshop is intended to serve as a means to present and discuss the draft guidance in greater detail, and gather additional input prior to finalizing the guidance material. More details to follow when confirmed.

Information Dissemination

In the interest of being transparent, summary minutes from each meeting will be put on this website. To prevent confusion, other discussions and draft documents leading up to the more thoroughly developed and vetted versions will remain within CASQAT. The team will publish the final draft guidance materials for public review at the same time together in one package prior to the workshop. However, interested parties are certainly welcome to "ask questions" to CASQAT for additional information in the interim. Submitting through the "Question or Comment" link or to the co-coordinators is suggested, but reaching out to any of the members of the task team is also welcome.

Updated: Thursday, September 6, 2018