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North Dakotans Reminded to Call Before You Dig
Governor Armstrong Proclaims Safe Digging Month in North Dakota

BISMARCK, ND — Governor Kelly Armstrong has proclaimed April as Safe Digging
Month in North Dakota. In recognition, the North Dakota Public Service Commission (PSC) is

reminding everyone of the potential dangers and consequences of digging without first clicking or
calling 8-1-1, North Dakota’s Call-Before-You-Dig number.

“Spring is here, and that means outdoor projects are on the rise! Before you pick up that
shovel or start digging, the North Dakota Public Service Commission has a crucial reminder: call
811 first,” said Commissioner Sheri Haugen-Hoffart, who holds the damage prevention portfolio.
“It’s not just a good idea — it’s a safeguard against striking underground utility lines like gas, power,
communications, water and sewer systems. Hitting one of these can lead to serious hazards and
racks up billions in damages every year. With one quick call to 811, you can ensure a safe, hassle-free
project and protect your community from avoidable risks. Don’t dig into danger — make the call!”

North Dakota law requires anyone conducting an excavation to notify 8-1-1 at least two
business days in advance of digging. This is a free service to homeowners and farmers working on
their own property/land. Personnel will be sent to mark the locations of the underground facilities,
typically within a couple of days. The markings are valid for 21 days after they are placed as
identified on your excavation notice ticket. This process is coordinated through North Dakota One
Call. The Public Service Commission’s role is to enforce the requirements of the state’s damage
prevention laws and take action when violations are reported to the Commission. The PSC can levy
a fine up to $25,000 per violation depending on severity.

Each year North Dakota’s underground utility infrastructure is jeopardized by unintentional
damage from those who fail to call 8-1-1 to have underground facilities located prior to digging.
Since 2009, the PSC has received and processed 364 complaints related to violations of the Call-
Before-You-Dig law. In total, approximately $466,150 in fines have been assessed against companies
or individuals who have violated the law. The consequences of striking an underground utility can be
severe including explosions resulting in injury or death, service interruptions or damage to the
environment.

The significant residential and business growth occurring throughout North Dakota and the
increased demand for pipeline infrastructure to support the energy industry have dramatically
increased demand for the One-Call Program.



Safe Digging Month is endorsed each April by the North Dakota Public Service
Commission, the Common Ground Alliance and the North Dakota One-Call Board. For more
information about 8-1-1 and begin your excavation notice, visit the North Dakota One-Call Board’s
website at www.ndonecall.com. For safety tips, best practices and other information, visit the
Common Ground Alliance website at www.commongroundalliance.com. (A copy of the Governor’s

Proclamation is included on the next page.)

The North Dakota Public Service Commission is a constitutionally created state agency with
authority to permit, site and regulate certain business activities in the state including electric and gas
utilities, telecommunications companies, power plants, electric transmission lines, pipelines,
railroads, commercial weighing devices, pipeline safety and coal mine reclamation. For more
information, contact the Public Service Commission at (701) 328-2400 or www.psc.nd.gov.
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WHEREAS, each year, the nation’s underground utility infrastructure is jeopardized by unintentional
damage by those who fail to call 811 to have underground facilities located prior to digging, and
undesired consequences such as service interruptions, damage to the environment, personal injury and even
death are the potential result; and

WHEREAS, the Common Ground Alliance and its stakeholders promote the national
Call-Before-You-Dig number, 811, in an effort to reduce these damages; designated by the Federal
Communications Commission in 2005, 811 provides potential excavators and homeowners a simple
number to reach their local One Call Center fo request uriﬁty locations at the intended dig site; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota law requires that anyone planning excavation or demolition must notify
North Dakota 811 and, if a facility must be located, personnel will be sent to mark the location of
underground facilities; and

WHEREAS, the North Dakota One Call Board and the North Dakota Public Service Commission
promote the national Call-Before-You-Dig number, 811, as well as the use of safe digging practices, in an
effort to reduce these damages; and

WHEREAS, through education of safe digging practices, excavators and homeowners can save time
and money keeping our nation safe and connected by making a simple call to 811 in advance of any
digging project, waiting the required amount of time for the utility to be located; respecting the location
mar s%y maintaining visual deqﬁnition throughout the excavation; and, finally, digging with care around
the marks; and

WHEREAS, all parties agree that safe digging is a shared responsibility, and homeowners and
excavators throughout the state are encouraged to always call 811 before digging.

NOW, THEREFORE, as Governor of the State of North Dakota, | do hereby proclaim
April 2025, SAFE DIGGING MONTH in the State of North Dakota.
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