You are here

Pipeline NTSB Recommendations Overview

The Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration is required by law to respond to safety recommendations issued by the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB), an independent federal agency charged by Congress with investigating significant incidents that involve hazardous materials. Recommendations usually address a specific issue uncovered during an investigation or study and specify how to correct the situation.

Open Recommendations

The NTSB has 5 classifications for open recommendations:

OAA - Open Acceptable Response
OAAR - Open Acceptable Alternate Response
OUA - Open Unacceptable Response
ORR - Open Response Received
OAR - Open Await Response

Closed Recommendations

NTSB closes recommendations when it has been determined that sufficient actions have been achieved. NTSB organizes its closed recommendations into 9 classifications:

CEX - Closed Exceeds Recommended Action
CAA - Closed Acceptable Action
CAAA - Closed Acceptable Alternate Action
CUA - Closed Unacceptable Action
CUAN - Closed Unacceptable Action/No Response Received
CR - Closed Reconsidered
CNLA - Closed No Longer Applicable
CS - Closed Superseded
CAAS, CAAAS, CUAS - Closed Acceptable/Acceptable Alternate/Unacceptable Action Superseded

Updated: Thursday, May 25, 2017