State Pipeline Safety Programs
Jul 20, 2012

Natural Gas Program

 

STATES PARTICIPATING IN THE FEDERAL/STATE
COOPERATIVE GAS AND HAZARDOUS LIQUID PIPELINE
SAFETY PROGRAMS

 

 

NATURAL GAS PROGRAM

 

State Agencies Under Section 60105(a) Certification (51)

 

Alabama   Louisiana   Ohio
Arizona   Maine   Oklahoma
Arkansas PSC   Maryland   Oregon
Arkansas Oil and Gas   Massachusetts   Pennsylvania**
California*   Michigan   Puerto Rico
Colorado   Minnesota   Rhode Island
Connecticut   Mississippi   South Carolina
Delaware   Missouri   South Dakota
District of Columbia   Montana   Tennessee
Florida PSC   Nebraska   Texas
Georgia   Nevada   Utah
Idaho   New Hampshire   Vermont
Illinois   New Jersey   Virginia**
Indiana   New Mexico   Washington
Iowa   New York   West Virginia
Kansas   North Carolina   Wisconsin
Kentucky   North Dakota   Wyoming

*California PUC does not exercise jurisdiction over municipal operators

State Agencies Under Section 60106(a) Agreement (2)

 

**Virginia (municipals systems)   **Pennsylvania (gas cooperatives)

 

 

State Agencies Acting as Interstate Agents (9)

 

Arizona   Michigan   Ohio
Connecticut   Minnesota   Washington
Iowa   New York   West Virginia
Hazardous Liquid Program

 

 

State Pipeline Safety Programs

 

HAZARDOUS LIQUID PROGRAM

 

 

State Agencies Under Section 60105(a) Certification (15)

 

Alabama   Maryland   Oklahoma
Arizona   Minnesota   Texas
California (Fire Marshal)   Mississippi   Virginia
Indiana   New York   Washington
Louisiana   New Mexico   West Virginia

 

 

State Agencies Under Section 60106(a) Agreement(2)

 

Kentucky   Pennsylvania    

 

 

State Agencies Acting as Interstate Agents(6)

 

Arizona   Minnesota   Virginia
California (Fire Marshal)   New York   Washington
State Program Manager Directory

State Program Manager Directory

Wallace R. Jones, Sr.
Administrator Gas Pipeline Safety Section
Alabama Public Service Commission
P O Box 304260
Montgomery, AL 36130-4260
Office: 334 - 242-5780 
Fax: 334 - 242-0687
wallace.jones@psc.alabama.gov

Robert Miller
Pipeline Safety Supervisor
Office Of Pipeline Safety
Arizona Corporation Commission (G,HL)
2200 North Central Ave., Suite 300
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Office: 602 - 262-5601 
Fax: 602 - 262-5620
rmiller@azcc.gov

Gary Looney
Assistant Director
Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission
2215 West Hillsboro (P O Box 11510; 71730)
El Dorado, AR 71731
Office: 870-862-4965 
Fax: 870-862-8823
gary.looney@aogc.state.ar.us

Robert Henry
Chief, Pipeline Safety
Arkansas Public Service Commission
1000 Center Street (P O Box 400: 72203-0400)
Little Rock, AR 72201
Office: 501-682-5716
Fax: 501-682-5340
bobby_henry@psc.state.ar.us

Michael Robertson
Program and Project Supervisor
Gas Section
Utilities Safety and Reliability Branch
California Public Utilities Commission
320 West 4th Street, Suite 500
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Office: 213 -576-7082
Fax: 213 -576-7013
mdr@cpuc.ca.gov

Bob Gorham
Division Chief
Pipeline Safety Division
California State Fire Marshal (HL)
3950 Paramount Blvd. #210
Lakewood, CA 90712
Office: 562 - 497-9102 
Fax: 562 - 497-9104
bob.gorham@fire.ca.gov

Steve Pott
Chief, Gas Pipeline Safety
Colorado Public Utilities Commission
1560 Broadway, Suite 250
Denver, CO 80202
Office: 303 - 894-2851 
Fax: 303 - 894-2065
steve.pott@dora.state.co.us

Karl Baker
Supervisor of Technical Analysis
Connecticut Department of Energy & Environmental Protection (G)
10 Franklin Square
New Britain, CT 06051
Office: (860) 827-2661 
Fax: 860 - 827-2613
karl.baker@po.state.ct.us

Jerry Platt, PE
Program Manager
Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Bldg., Suite 100
Dover, DE 19904
Office: 302 -736-7526 
Fax: 302 - 739-4849
jerry.platt@state.de.us

Udeozo Ogbue, P. Eng.
Chief, Office of Engineering
District of Columbia Public Service Commission
1333 H. Street, NW, Ste. 700
Washington, DC 20005
Office: 202 - 626-9190
Fax: 202 ¿ 626-9174
uogbue@psc.dc.gov

Rick Moses
Bureau Chief Safety
Florida Public Service Commission
2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850
Office: 850 - 413-6582
Fax: 850 - 413-6641
rmoses@psc.state.fl.us

Michael C. Nantz, Director
Director, Facilities Protection Unit
Office of Pipeline Safety
Georgia Public Service Commission
244 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334
Office: 404 - 463-2765
Fax: 404 - 463-6532
mnantz@psc.state.ga.us

Ellis Hire
Program Managerr
Idaho Public Utilities Commission
P. O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0074
Office: 208 - 365-0667
Fax: 208 -334-3762
ellis.hire@puc.idaho.gov

Darin Burk
Pipeline Safety Manager
Illinois Commerce Commission
527 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL 62701
Office: 217 - 785-1165 
Fax: 217 - 524-5516
dburk@icc.illinois.gov

William Boyd
Director, Pipeline Safety Division
Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission
101 West Washington Street, Suite 1500E
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Office: 317 - 232-2718
Fax: 317 - 233-2410
wboyd@urc.in.gov

Donald J. Stursma
Manager, Safety & Engineering Section
Iowa Utilities Board (G)
1375 E Court Avenue, Room 69
Des Moines, IA 50319-0069
Office: 515 - 725-7352
Fax: 515 - 725-7399
don.stursma@iub.iowa.gov

Leo M. Haynos
Chief of Gas Operations & Pipeline Safety
Kansas Corporation Commission
1500 SW Arrowhead Road
Topeka, KS 66604-4027
Office: 785 - 271-3278
Fax: 785 - 271-3357
l.haynos@kcc.ks.gov

Jason Brangers
Manager, Gas Branch
Kentucky Public Service Commission
211 Sower Boulevard
P O Box 615
Frankfort, KY 40602-0615
Office: 502 - 564-3940 x425
Fax: 502 - 564-1582
jason.brangers@ky.gov

James M. Mergist
Assistant Director, Pipeline Division
Office of Conservation
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources
P O Box 94275 (617 North 3rd Street; 70802)
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275
Office: 225 - 342-5585
Fax: 225 - 342-5529
jamesm@la.gov

Gary A. Kenny, P.E.
Gas Safety Manager
Maine Public Utilities Commission
State House Station 18 (101 Second Street, Halowell, ME 04347)
Augusta ME 04333-0018
Office: 207-287-1364
Fax: 207-287-1039
gary.kenny@maine.gov

John J. Clementson, II
Assistant Chief Engineer
Public Service Commission of Maryland
William Donald Schaefer Tower - 19th Floor
6 Saint Paul St.
Baltimore, MD 21202-6806
Office: (410) 767-8111 
Fax: (410) 333-0884
jclementson@psc.state.md.us

Christopher Bourne
Director, Pipeline Engineering & Safety Division
Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities
One South Station
Boston, MA 02110
Office: 617 - 305-3537 
Fax: 617 - 478-2589
christopher.bourne@state.ma.us

David J. Chislea
Manager, Gas Operations Section
Michigan Public Service Commission (G)
P.O. Box 30221
Lansing, MI 48909
Office: (517) 241-6132 
Fax: (517) 241-6121
chislead@michigan.gov

Elizabeth Skalnek, PE
Chief Engineer
Minnesota Department of Public Safety (G, HL)
444 Cedar Street, Suite 147, Town Square
St. Paul, MN 55101-5147
Office: 651 - 201-7239 
Fax: 651 - 296-9641
elizabeth.skalnek@state.mn.us

Mark McCarver
Director, Pipeline Safety Division
Mississippi Public Service Commission
501 West Street, P O Box 1174
Jackson, MS 39215-1174
Office: 601 - 961-5475 or 5485 
Fax: 601 - 961-5469
mark.mccarver@psc.state.ms.us

Bob Leonberger
Assistant Manager, Gas Safety/Engineering
Missouri Public Service Commission
200 Madison Street, Suite 600 (P O Box 360, 65102-0360)
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Office: 573 - 751-3456 
Fax: 573 - 522-1946
bob.leonberger@psc.mo.gov

G. Joel Tierney
Pipeline Safety Program Manager
Department of Public Service Regulations
Montana Public Service Commission
1701 Prospect Avenue
P O Box 202601
Helena, MT 59620-2601
Office: 406 - 444-6181 
Fax: 406 - 444-7618
jtierney@mt.gov

Clark Conklin
Chief Deputy Fuels Safety Division
Nebraska State Fire Marshal
246 South l4th Street
Lincoln, NE 68508
Office: 402 - 471-9465 
Fax: 402 - 471-1024
clark.conklin@nebraska.gov

Clark Stoner
Senior Gas Pipeline Engineer
Nevada Public Utilities Commission
1150 East William St.
Carson City, NV 89701
Office: 775 - 684-6139 
Fax: 775 - 684-6142
cstoner@puc.nv.gov

Randall S. Knepper
Director, Safety Division
New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission
21 S. Fruit St., Ste. 10
Concord, NH 03301-2429
Office: 603 - 271-6026 
Fax: 603 - 271-6048
randy.knepper@puc.nh.gov

Michael F. Stonack, P.E.
Bureau Chief, Pipeline Safety
New Jersey Board of Public Utilities
Two Gateway Center
Newark, NJ 07102
Office: 973 - 648-4959 
Fax: 973 - 693-6876
michael.stonack@bpu.state.nj.us

Jason N. Montoya, P.E.
Bureau Chief, Pipeline Safety Bureau
New Mexico Public Regulation Commissison
1120 Paseo de Peralta, 4th Floor, Rm 416 (P. O. Box 1269; 87505-1269)
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Office: 505 - 476-0253 
Fax: 505 - 827-4388
jasonn.montoya@state.nm.us

Kevin Speicher
Actiong Chief, Safety Section
New York State Department of Public Service (G, HL)
620 Erie Blvd. West, Suite 110
Syracuse, NY 13204
Office: 315 - 423-1278 
Fax: 315 - 423-1100
kevin_speicher@dps.state.ny.us

Chris Isley
Director, Pipeline Safety Section
North Carolina Utilities Commission
physical location:
430 North Salisbury Street
Raleigh, NC 27603-5918
mailing address:
4325 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4325
Office: 919 - 733-8818
Fax: 919 - 733-7300
isley@ncuc.net

Bob Bachmeier
Gas Pipeline Safety Inspector / Program Manager
North Dakota Public Service Commission
600 E. Boulevard
Bismarck, ND 58505-0480
Office: 701 - 220-5779 
Fax: 701 - 328-2410
bbachmeier@nd.gov

Peter Chace
Chief, Gas Pipeline Safety Section
Ohio Public Utilities Commission (G)
180 East Broad Street, 7th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-3793
Office: 614 - 644-8983 
Fax: 614 - 728-4319
peter.chace@puc.state.oh.us

Dennis Fothergill
Manager, Gas Pipeline Safety
Oklahoma Public Utility Commission
P O Box 52000
Jim Thorpe Office Building
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2000
Office: 405 - 521-2258 
Fax: 405 - 521-3455
d.fothergill@occemail.com

Michael Thompson
Chief, Pipeline Safety
Oregon Public Utility Commission
PO Box 2148
Salem, OR 97308-2148
Office: 503 - 378-6760 
Fax: 503 - 373-7752
Michael.thompson@state.or.us

Paul J. Metro
Chief Engineer, Gas Safety Division
Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
Commonwealth Keystone Bldg.
P O Box 3265
Harrisburg, PA 17105-3265
Office: 717 - 787-1063 
Fax: 717 - 787-3114
pmetro@state.pa.us

Alice Velazquez Aponte
Counsel on Legal and federal Matters (Pipeline)
Puerto Rico Public Service Commission
Avenida Munoz Rivera 50 Hato Rey (P.O. Box 190870)
San Jaun, PR 00919-0870
Office: 787 - 786-1919, x2430 
Fax: 787 - 767-3069
avelazquez@csp.gobierno.pr

Don A. Ledversis
Gas Safety Engineer
Rhode Island Division of Public Utilities and Carriers
89 Jefferson Blvd
Warwick, RI 02888-1046
Office: 401 - 780-2123
Fax: 401 - 941-4885
ri@napsr.net

Vernon L. Gainey
Supervisor, Pipeline Safety
Office of Regulatory Staff of South Carolina
1401 Main Street, Suite 900 (P. O. Drawer 11263; 29211)
Columbia, SC 29201
Office: 803 - 737-0914 
Fax: 803 - 737-0986
vgainey@regstaff.sc.us

Nathan Solem
Pipeline Safety Program Manager
South Dakota Public Utilities Commission
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-5070
Office: 605 - 773-4210
Fax: 866-757-0631
nathan.solem@state.sd.us

Larry Borum
Chief, Gas Pipeline Safety Division
Tennessee Regulatory Authority
460 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0505
Office: 800-342-8359 x185
Fax: 615 - 741-1228
larry.borum@tn.gov

Polly Mc Donald
Director, Safety Division
Railroad Commission of Texas
physical location: 1701 Congress Ave., Austin, TX 78701
mailing address:
Capitol Station, P O Box 12967
Austin, TX 78711-2967
Office: 512 - 463-7008
Fax: 512 - 463-7153
polly.mcdonald@rrc.state.tx.us

Al Zadeh
Manager, Water, Customer Service and Pipeline Safety
Division of Public Utilities
Utah Department of Commerce
160 East 300 South
P O Box 146751
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6751
Office: 801 - 530-6673
Fax: 801 - 530-6512
azadeh@utah.gov

Hans E. Mertens
Director of Engineer Services & Chief Engineer
Vermont Department of Public Service
State Office Building
112 State Street, Suite 200
Montpelier, VT 05620-2601
Office: 802 - 828-4007 
Fax: 802 - 828-2342
hans.mertens@state.vt.us

Massoud Tahamtani
Director, Division of Utility and Railroad Safety
Virginia State Corporation Commission (HL)
Taylor Building
P O Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218
Office: 804 - 371-9264 
Fax: 804 - 371-9734
massoud.tahamtani@scc.virginia.gov

David Lykken
Director, Pipeline Safety
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (G, HL)
1300 S. Evergreen Park Drive, SW
P O Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250
Office: 360-664-1219 
Fax: 360-586-1172
dlykken@utc.wa.gov

David Hippchen
Manager, Gas Pipeline Safety
West Virginia Public Service Commission (G)
201 Brooks Street (P O Box 812; 25323)
Charleston, WV 25301
Office: 304 - 340-0393 
Fax: 304 - 340-0452
dhippchen@psc.state.wv.us

Tom Stemrich
Pipeline Safety Program Manager, Gas & Energy Division
Natural Gas Division
Wisconsin Public Service Commission
610 North Whitney Way
P O Box 7854
Madison, WI 53707
Office: 608 - 266-2800 
Fax: 608 - 266-3957
thomas.stemrich@wisconsin.gov

David W. Piroutek
Engineering Supervisor
Wyoming Public Service Commission
2515 Warren Ave., Ste. 300
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0230
Office: 307 - 777-5750 
Fax: 307 - 777-5700
dpirou@state.wy.us