[Header] PHMSA - U.S. Department of Transportation - Pipeline and Hazardous materials Safety Adminis
PHMSA Home
Explosive Test Labs

49 CFR 173.56(b)(1) provides that new explosives must be examined and assigned a recommended shipping description, classification, and compatibility group by a person who has been approved by the Associate Administrator to do so.

As of April 1, 2008, the organizations listed below have been approved by the Associate Administrator to examine and make recommendations concerning new explosives in accordance with 49 CFR 173.56(b)(1).

Approvals Search Tools

The approvals search tool is a powerful and effective method to determine the current status of a submission, existing approval, pending approval, terminated approval or expired approval.

If you need information concerning application status that is not available in this search, please contact: approvals@dot.gov or call 202/366-3987.

Agencies Contact Person Address, Phone & E-mail
Explosives Bureau Thomas Chang 407 Hartshorn Drive
Short Hills, NJ 07078
T:973-467-3237
F:973-467-4648
uneak96@aol.com
Safety Management Services, Inc. Garn Butcher
Kirt Sasser
Troy Gardner
1847 West 9000 South
Suite 205
West Jordon, UT 84088
T:801-567-0456
F:801-567-0457
gbutcher@sms-ink.com
ksasser@smsenergetics.com
tgardner@sms-ink.com
Safety Consulting Engineers, Inc.,
a Chilworth Global Company
Thaddeus Speed 2131 Hammond Drive Schaumburg, IL 60173
T:847-925-8100
F:847-925-8120
sceinc@sceinc.com
Explosives Examiners LLC Phillip Kneisl 3714 Crescent Drive
Pearland, TX 77584
Explosivesexaminers@gmail.com
T: 281-692-0178
APT Research, Inc. Darlene Davenport 4950 Research Drive
Huntsville, AL 35805
ddavenport@apt-research.com
T:256-327-4018
F:256-837-7786
How Do I Get an Approval?
Careers  |  Contact Us  |  No Fear  |  Privacy Policy  |  FOIA  |  Accessibility  |  FAQs  |  Web Policies  |  Site Map  |  Download Acrobat