Emergency Response Guidebook (ERG)
Select
  • Article
Hide Downloads & Links »
« Show Downloads & Links

PHMSA's Hazardous Materials Safety Assistance Team (HMSAT) will be conducting training presentations across the country to assist those million-plus firefighters who may be missing opportunities to receive training on the Emergency Response Guidebook.

Understanding that time and money are often deciding factors when seeking new/refresher training, we are eager to host these sessions to ensure emergency responders are prepared to deal with any hazardous material or pipeline incidents, whenever and wherever they may occur.

The dates and locations for upcoming presentations are provided below.

Advanced registration is not required.

ERG Presentations:

Date Location For More Info Call
January 14, 2014 Charleston, WV 609-989-2256
January 16, 2014 Roanoke, VA 609-989-2256
January 30, 2014 Dalton, GA 609-989-2256
February 11, 2014 St. Thomas, VI 404-832-1140
February 11, 2014 Omaha, NE 847-294-8580
February 13, 2014 Grand Island, NE 847-294-8580
April 8, 2014 Frankfort, KY 404-832-1140
April 10, 2014 Bowling Green, KY 404-832-1140
April 10, 11, and 12, 2014 Vernon Parrish, LA 713-272-2820
April 23, 2014 Augusta, ME 609-989-2256
May 13, 2014 Madison, WI 847-294-8580
May 15, 2014 Cedar Rapids, IA 847-294-8580
June 18, 2014 Williston, ND 847-294-8580
June 20, 2014 Minot, ND 847-294-8580
June 24, 2014 Charlotte, NC 404-832-1140
June 26, 2014 Charleston, SC 404-832-1140
July 8, 2014 Butte, MT 909-937-3279
July 9, 2014 Ogden, UT 909-937-3279
July 10, 2014 Idaho Falls, ID 909-937-3279
July 11, 2014 Rock Springs, WY 909-937-3279
August 12, 2014 Denver, CO 909-937-3279
August 14, 2014 Cheyenne, WY 909-937-3279
August 21, 2014 Indianapolis, IN 847-294-8580
September 9, 2014 Concord, MA 609-989-2256
September 11, 2014 Hartford, CT 609-989-2256
September 22, 2014 New Lenox, IL 847-294-8580

Quickly Identify Hazmat Emergency Procedures

PHMSA's 2012 Emergency Response Guidebook provides first responders with a go-to manual to help deal with hazmat accidents during the critical first 30 minutes. DOT's goal is to place an ERG in every emergency service vehicle nationwide.

To date, nearly 13 million free copies have been distributed to the emergency response community through state emergency management coordinators. Members of the public may purchase a copy of the ERG through the GPO Bookstore and other commercial suppliers.

NEXT EDITION COMING IN 2016

First responders, we want your feedback! Submit your name, organization, contact information, and comments to ERGcomments@dot.gov.

2012 Emergency Response Guidebook

ERG 2012 Book


[NOTE: Some of the attached documents are in PDF format, you can download a free viewer. If you have problems accessing the PDFs or the information, report your problem for further assistance.]

 

ERG 2012 Mobile App

The Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration has developed a free, mobile web app of its Emergency Response Guidebook 2012 (ERG). The new safety tool provides the nation's emergency responders with fast, easily accessible information to help them manage hazardous material incidents.

Click here for more information.

Become Familiar with the Emergency Response Guidebook

 

Under a Cooperative Agreement with the Department of Transportation's Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA), the International Association of Fire Chiefs produced a video to explain how to use the Emergency Response Guidebook 2008.

Look for the video under "Related Links" on the menu on the right.

Information on how to order this video on DVD will be made available later this Fall.

Note: State Coordinators distribute ERGs ONLY to their State's public response organizations. If you are not a public responder, you can click here for a list of commercial suppliers of the ERG2012.

 

Alabama
Terry DeVaughn
Alabama Emergency Management Agency
5898 County Road 41
Clanton, AL 35046
P: 205-280-2245
F: 205-280-2443
Terry.devaughn@ema.alabama.gov

Alaska
Jeff R. Ennenga
State of Alaska
Division of Homeland Security
& Emergency Management
P.O. Box 5750, Building 49000
Fort Richardson, AK 99505-5750
P: 907-428-7024
F: 907-428-7009
Jeff.ennenga@alaska.gov

American Samoa
Vinnie Atofau, Jr.
Department of Homeland Security
American Samoa Government
143 Highway 1
Fagatogo, American Samoa 96799
P: 684.699.6481
F: 684.633.2827
Javelin526@gmail.com

Arizona
Mark Howard
Arizona Emergency Response Commission
5636 East McDowell Road
Phoenix, AZ 85008
P: 602.464.6346
F: 602.464.6519
Mark.Howard@azdema.gov

Arkansas
Kenny Harmon
Arkansas Department of Emergency Management
Building #9501
Camp Joseph T. Robinson
North Little Rock, AR 72199
P: 501.683.6700
F: 501.683.6790
Kenny.harmon@adem.arkansas.gov

California
Fred Mehr
Governor's Office of Emergency Services
Hazardous Materials Unit
3650 Schriever Ave.
Mather, CA 95655
P: 916.845.8754
F: 916.845.8734
Fred.mehr@calema.ca.gov

Colorado
Jack D. Cobb
Colorado Division of Emergency Management
9195 E. Mineral Ave.
Suite 200
Centennial, CO 80112
P: 720.852.6603
F: 720.852.6755
Jack.cobb@state.co.us

Connecticut
John P. Doucette
Connecticut Department of Public Safety
Office of State Fire Marshall
1111 County Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
P: 860.685.8350
F: 860.685.8359
John.doucette@ct.gov

Delaware
Robert P. Newnam
Delaware State Fire School
1461 Chestnut Grove Road
Dover, DE 19904
P: 302.739.4773
F: 302.739.6245
Robert.P.newnam@state.de.us

District of Columbia
Donald Hall
DC Homeland Security & Emergency Management Agency
2720 Martin Luther King Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20032
P: 202.481.3044
F: 202.673.2290
Donald.hall@dc.gov

Florida
Linda McWhorter
Florida Division of Emergency Management
2555 Shumard Oak Blvd.
Tallahassee, FL 32399
P: 850.413.9899
F: 850.488.1016
Linda.mcwhorter@em.myflorida.com

Georgia
Bryan E. Adams
Georgia Emergency Management Agency
1000 Indian Springs Drive
Forsyth, GA 31029
P: 478.993.4618
F: 478.993.4260
Bryan.adams@gema.ga.gov

Guam
Captain Joey A. Manibusan
Guam Fire Hazmat Office
P.O. Box 9274
Dededo, Guam 96912
P: 671.483.1622
F: 671.472.3360
jamanibusan@firehousemail.com
guamfireinspector@gmail.com

Hawaii
Leighton Ah Cook
Hawaii State Civil Defense
3949 Diamond Head Road
Honolulu, HI 96816-4495
P: 808.733.4300, Ext. 521
F: 808.733.4287
lahcook@scd.hawaii.gov

Idaho
Jefferey G. Rylee
Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security
4040 Guard Street
Bldg. 600
Boise, ID 83705-5004
P: 208.422.5724
F: 208.422.3044
Jrylee@bhs.idaho.gov

Illinois
Janie Martin
Illinois Emergency Management Agency
2200 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62703
P: 217.557.4770
F: 217.557.1978
Janie.martin@illinois.gov

Indiana
John Buckman III
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
302 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
P: 317.417.3695
F: 317.234.0736
jbuckman@dhs.in.gov

Iowa
Major Lance Evans
Office of Motor Vehicle Enforcement
6310 SE Convenience Blvd.
Ankeny, IA
P: 515.237.3214
F: 515.237.3387
D.Evans@dot.iowa.gov

Kansas
Jennifer Clark
Kansas Division of Emergency Management
2800 SW Topeka Blvd
Topeka, KS 66611-1287
785.274.1394
785.274.1426
jennifer.marie.clark@us.army.mil

Kentucky
Rick Bobo
Kentucky Division of Emergency Management
1025 Capital Center Drive, Ste. 101
Frankfort, KY 40601
P: 502.607.5728
F: 502.607.5710
Richard.a.bobo@us.army.mil

Louisiana
Gene Dunegan
Louisiana State Police
7919 Independence Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
P: 225.925.6113 Ext. 253
F: 225.925.4048
Gene.Dunegan@dps.la.gov

Maine
Robert S. Gardner
Maine Emergency Management Agency
State House Station 72
Augusta, ME 04333-0072
P: 207.624.4400
F: 207.287.3178
robert.s.gardner@maine.gov

Maryland
Jennifer E. Ryan
Maryland Emergency Management Agency
5401 Rue Saint Lo Drive
Reisterstown, MD 21130
P: 410-517-5178
F: 410-517-3610
jennifer.ryan@maryland.gov

Massachusetts
Jeff Timperi
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
400 Worcester Road
Framingham, MA 01702-5399
P: 508.820.2019
F: 508.820.2030
Jeff.timperi@state.ma.us

Michigan
David R. Peterson
Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs
4343 Plainfield, NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
P: 616.361.2895
F: 616.364.1187
erg@plainfieldfire.org

Minnesota
Kevin Reed
Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management
444 Cedar Street, Ste. 223
St. Paul, MN 55101
P: 651.201.7425
F: 651.215.6883
Kevin.reed@state.mn.us

Mississippi
Brian Maske
Mississippi Emergency Management Agency
1 MEMA Dr.
Pearl, MS 39208
P: 601.933.6369
F: 601.933.6815
Bmaske@mema.ms.gov

Missouri
Dawn Warren
Missouri Emergency Response Commission
2302 Militia Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65101
P: 573.526.9237
F: 573.526.9261
dawn.warren@sema.dps.mo.gov

Montana
Sheri Lanz
Montana, Disaster and Emergency Services
P.O. Box 4789
FT. Harrison, MT 59636
P: 406.324.4777
F: 406.324.4790
sheris@mt.gov

Nebraska
Lieutenant Carla Schreiber
Nebraska State Patrol
1600 Highway 2
Lincoln, NE 68502
P: 402.326.8346
F: 402.479.4950
Carla.Schreiber@nebraska.gov

Nevada
Kirsten Sherve
Nevada Emergency Management
2478 Fairview Drive
Carson City, NV 89701
P: 775.687.0326
F: 775.687.0322
Kjsherve@dps.state.nv.us

New Hampshire
Les A. Cartier
New Hampshire State Fire Marshal's Office
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
P: 603.223.4289
F: 603.223.4294
Leslie.Cartier@dos.nh.gov

New Jersey
Detective Ed Crowley
New Jersey State Police
HMRU
1001 Fire Academy Drive
Sayreville, NJ 08872
P: 732.721.4040
F: 732.721.4672
lpp6259@gw.njsp.org

New Mexico
Daniela Bowman
New Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
P.O. Box 27111
Santa Fe, NM 87502
C: 505.500.2713
P: 505.476.0617
F: 505.476.9695
Daniela.Bowman@state.nm.us

New York
Kathy Shea
New York State Emergency Management Office
1220 Washington Avenue
Bldg. 22, Suite 101
Albany, NY 12226
P: 518.292.2302
F: 518.322.4986
kshea@dhses.ny.gov

North Carolina
Patrick Lake
NC Division of Emergency Mgmt
4713 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699
P: 919.733.3327
F: 919.733.2860
Plake@ncem.org

North Dakota
Raymond Lambert
State Fire Marshal
4205 State Street
Bismarck, ND 58503
P: 701.328.5555
F: 701.328.5510
rlambert@nd.gov

Ohio
Kenneth Klouda
Ohio Fire Academy
8895 East Main Street
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068
P: 614.752.7094
F: 614.752.7111
Kenneth.Klouda@com.state.oh.us

Oklahoma
Bonnie McKelvey
Oklahoma Emergency Management
P.O. Box 53365
Oklahoma City, OK 73152
P: 405.521.3046
Bonnie.mckelvey@oem.ok.gov

Oregon
Susan Otjen
Office of the State Fire Marshall
4760 Portland Road, NE
Salem, OR 97305
P: 503.934.8227
F: 503.373.1540
Sue.otjen@state.or.us

Pennsylvania
Henry Tamanini
Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
2605 Interstate Drive
Harrisburg, PA 17110
P: 717.651.2723
F: 717.651.2240
hetamanini@pa.gov

Puerto Rico
Jason Caraballo
Puerto Rico Public Service Commission
P.O. Box 190870
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00919
P: 787.392-3999
F: 787.758.6264
JCaraballo@csp.gobierno.pr

Rhode Island
Kenneth Baker
Rhode Island Emergency Management Agency
645 New London Ave.
Cranston, RI 02970
P: 401.946.9996
F: 401.647.4170
Kenneth.L.Baker1@us.army.mil

South Carolina
Randall Jenkins
South Carolina Emergency Management Division
2779 Fish Hatchery Road
West Columbia, SC 29172
P: 803.737.8838
F: 803.737.8570
rjenkins@emd.sc.gov

South Dakota
Bob Van Winsen
Department of Public Safety
Office of Emergency Management
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
P: 605.773.3231
F: 605.773.3580
bob.vanwinsen@state.sd.us

Tennessee
Gary Beazley
Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
3041 Sidco Drive
Nashville, TN 37204
P: 615.253.3396
F: 615.741.4173
Gbeazley@tnema.org

Texas
Chase Yarbrough
Tech Hazards Supervisor
Texas Division of Emergency Management
Work: 512-424-2447
E-mail: chase.yarbrough@dps.texas.gov

U.S Virgin Islands
Akil Johnson
Coordinator
Motor Carrier Safety Administration Program
36 A & 36AB Smithfield
Frederiksted, VI 00840
P: 340.772.3025 Ext. 2605
ajohnson@vipd.gov.vi

Utah
Rick Carlile
Department of Public Safety
4501 South 2700 West MTF Bld
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
P: 801.599.2100
F: 801.256.2495
rcarlile@utah.gov

Vermont
Jason Gosselin
Department of Public Safety
Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-2101
P: 802-244-8721 or 1-800-347-0488
F: 802-241-5556
jason.gosselin@state.vt.us

Virginia
Wade Collins
Virginia Department of Emergency Management
10501 Trade Court
Richmond, VA 23236
P: 804.897.9952
F: 804.897.6576
Wade.collins@vdem.virginia.gov

Washington
Steve DeBow
Washington Emergency Management Division
Building 20, MS: TA-20, Camp Murray
Tacoma, WA  98430-5122
P: 253.512.7066
F: 253.512.7207
S.debow@emd.wa.gov

West Virginia
Paul Howard
WV Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management
1900 Kanawha Boulevard
Bldg 1 / Room EB-80
Charleston, WV 25305
P: 304.558.5380
F: 304.344.4538
paul.s.howard@wv.gov

Wisconsin
Steve Fenske
Wisconsin Emergency Management
2400 Wright Street
Madison, WI 53707
P: 608.242.3228
F: 608.242.3249
steve.fenske@wisconsin.gov

Wyoming
Scott W. Ramsay
Wyoming Office of Homeland Security
2421 East 7th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82001
P: 307.777.4951
F: 307.638.7670
scott.ramsay@wyo.gov

Department of Defense POC for Emergency Response Guidebooks
Mr. Kim Morrison
(618) 220-6359
Kim.Morrison@us.army.mil

Lisa Taylor
(618) 220-6918

 

Development of the Table of Initial Isolation and Protective Action Distances for the 2008 Emergency Response Guidebook.

Click the Argonne National Laboratory Report (PDF) in the menu on the right to read the report.

Development of the Table of Initial Isolation and Protective Action Distances for the 2008 Emergency Response Guidebook.

Click the Isolation and Protective Action Distances Report from Argonne Labs(PDF) in the menu on the right to read the report.

English numerical ERG2012.xls

English alphabetical ERG2012.xls

English guide phrases ERG2012.xls

English TIHWR Table ERG2012.xls

English water reactive list ERG2012.xls

Spanish numerical ERG2012.xls

Spanish alphabetical ERG2012.xls

Spanish guide phrases ERG2012.xls

Spanish TIHWR Table ERG2012.xls

Spanish water reactive list ERG2012.xls